Spring felt flower children

 

DSC07842

A little while ago, I wrote that I was making some little felt ‘flower children’ to adorn our Nature Table. I have since made three more daffodils (during the time they were abundant in nature) and this weekend I made three bluebells and another tulip child. I have had the felt cut out since our holiday in Cornwall, but I never found the time to sew them up somehow. We had a quiet weekend at home, so I finally had a chance to finish them off and add them to our nature table.

DSC08623

I started making these ‘flower children’ before I realised there were instructions in the wonderful Waldorf craft resource All Year Round . As I made them up myself, my measurements and directions are a little different. There are instructions for making snowdrop, primrose and crocus ‘fairies’ in the book, so I won’t share how I made those, but I thought I would share a little tutorial on how I made the bluebells, tulips (and daffodils) with you as they are still abundant and spring is still in the air 🙂

DSC08210

DSC07914

For this project, I would recommend using 100% wool felt. I buy mine from Myriad Natural Toys. Items made from 100% wool felt look lovely for a long time; there is no degradation or pilling  – except if you have a moth in your nature table box like my eldest did – several of her wool decorations have been nibbled at 😦

DSC07778

Materials for flower children:

* 100% wool felt in the colours of your choice.
*  Flesh coloured stockinette – I used this fabric left over from making our Waldorf dolls, but any light coloured stretchy fabric would work.
*  Cotton thread in green,  thread to match the felt chosen and a strong cotton thread.
*   Stuffing wool (or toy stuffing).

All the heads are made as follows. I made several at once in a mini production line:

  • Cut a 7cm x 7cm square of stockinette. Take a small amount of sheepswool and place it in the centre of the stockinette.

DSC07781

  • Bring all the sides together and hold firmly as you tie a strong cotton thread a couple of times around the neck until it feels firm. Tie a knot and cut.

DSC07782

I am going to give detailed instructions for making the tulip child. The other flower children are made in a very similar way, except for the hats, which I will describe separately.

For the Tulip, you will need to cut

  • 8cm x 6cm of red/purple/orange etc felt for the body
  • 8cm x 3.5cm of medium green felt for the leaves
  • 14cm x 3.5cm of red/purple/orange etc felt for the hat

DSC07783

  1. Cut the felt into the shapes shown above for the leaves and hat petals.

DSC07784

2. Knot a length of green thread and sew the green leaves onto body using a simple running stitch at the top. Leave a long thread on the needle.

DSC07788

2.    Use a separate needle and thread to sew the short sides of the body together to form a tube. This can be done with blanket stitch or any preferred joining stitch. Secure thread.

DSC07789

3.    Place the head inside the body and using the green thread from stage 2, pull the thread tightly to hold the head in place. When you are happy, take the needle through all the layers – neck, body and leaves – several times at different angles to make sure the head stays in place.

DSC07791

DSC07792

4.   For the hat, place the head on the felt and roll it around the head. There will be two layers. Try to ensure that the petals aren’t right on top each other for the best effect.

DSC07795

DSC07797

5. Once you have worked out the size of the hat, remove it. Take a thread in a similar colour to the felt and sew the hat together as seen below, going through both layers,  using your preferred joining stitch.

DSC07798

DSC07799

6. Place the hat back on the head and using the same thread sew through all the layers including the head several times to secure the hat to the head. NB: best to match up the bodyseam with the hat seam.

DSC07800

DSC08622

7. Place some stuffing wool inside the body so it can stand happily.

DSC07801

DSC08617

And here you have your proud tulip children

For the bluebell child, cut:

  • 8cm x 6cm of purple felt for the body
  • 8cm x 3.5cm of medium green felt for the leaves
  • 8cm x 3.5cm of purple felt for the hat

 

DSC07825

  • Follow the instructions for the head and body as shown with the tulip child, cutting the felt out as shown above.
  • For the hat, knot the thread at one end and do a running stitch along the top.

DSC07826

  • Pull the stitches tight and pull the thread through the top from one side to the other side of the hat a couple of times to make it secure.

DSC07830

  • Using the same thread, secure the hat to the head by sewing through the hat and the head a few times.  

DSC07831

And here is the finished product 🙂

DSC08618

For the Daffodil child, you will need to cut:

  • 8cm x 6cm of yellow felt for the body
  • 8cm x 3.5cm of medium green felt for the leaves
  • 8cmx 3.5cm of yellow/white felt for the daffodil hat
  • 4cm x 1.5cm of yellow/orange felt for the daffodil trumpet

DSC07822

1.  Follow the instructions for the head and body as shown with the tulip child, cutting the felt out as shown above. There should ideally be six petals.

DSC07832

2.  For the hat, knot the thread at one end and do a running stitch along the top. Pull a little together but wait to insert the trumpet before closing the gap.

DSC07834

3.  For the trumpet, sew both short sides together as shown.

DSC07835

4.  Do a running stitch along the bottom with the same thread and pull it tight and secure.

DSC07837

5.  Insert the trumpet into the petal part and pull the thread (from stage 2) tight around the trumpet as shown.
DSC07838

6.  Sew the hat onto the head, by sewing through the hat and head several times at a  pleasing angle.

DSC08621

DSC08620

I love these bright and cheery daffodil children!

I have grouped the flower children in threes as my husband, who is a Garden Designer has always said three is the magic number for groups of plants. You know I think he is right. 🙂

Of course there are lots of variations on all of these. Daffodils come in all different colours and styles, so I made three different ones to reflect that. Bluebells also come in different shades of purple (and even in pink and white). And tulips of course come in a gorgeous array of colours.

You can add hair to any of these if you like. I prefer them without, but my daughters think they look bald otherwise. Personal preference 🙂

We are thinking of making tiny daisy children and dandelion children for the summer months and perhaps some buttercups 🙂 Let’s see….

Hope this has inspired you to make some more items for your nature table, or just to have a go with a simple craft like this.

I love making time for Nature Table crafts 🙂  

 

Sharing at The Really Crafty Link Party

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Spring felt flower children

  1. How pretty! Yes, I have used the instructions from All Year Round and The Children’s Year. We do not have bluebells in our garden, but I will have to look for them. I think daisy flower children would be so nice! My parents have daisies blooming, and we’ve got lots of buttercups and dandelions. If you make those before me, I would love to see photos.

    Like

    • Thanks Brandy! Oh I forgot about the Children’s Year too. I think we will wait til June and after birthday time to make the small meadow flowers, but of course I will post them if I make them 🙂

      Like

  2. Love your nature table, ours is looking a little bit neglected at the moment, busy with lots of projects, decluttering, planning and orgainising. Myriad is a wonderful place to shop 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Helen! The Nature Table goes through phases like that I find. Ours is actually in our lounge and the TV is hidden behind the blue sky! It has to look half decent as it is so large and is quite a focal point opposite the sofa! The flower children have added more colour and life to it – fresh energy helps. Yes so many things to do, the nature table isn’t really the priority, especially as the season progresses. A new season always brings new energy for it though I find. Summer isn’t far off! Yes Myriad is the place to go for all kinds of goodness. 🙂 The single felt sheets are excellent.

      Like

Leave a Reply

