A New Year begins…

This is my first post of 2017 and to begin with, I would like to wish you all a very Happy New Year!  May it be a blessed year for us all.

dsc06917

I have been thinking a lot about my intentions for the coming year. I think it is a good idea to start the year with a sense of how we would like things to unfold. The Universe / God / the Angels or however you would like to think of it, can then help you to create more of what you would like and hopefully less of what you want to let go of. That is how I like to see it anyway.

I  intend to continue sharing in this space and I so appreciate the connections I am slowly making here. I hope this will continue in the coming year. From generally steering clear of modern technology – I am an old fashioned girl at heart – I am finally embracing the advantages and am planning to finally get a smart phone ( my old nokia phone is slowly dying on me) so I can share photos on Instagram and hopefully reach more like-minded folk. I have a small, but lovely 🙂 readership, but the sharing brings greater rewards for all, if more people can actually find this space! I never used to take many photos, except of the children, but have absolutely loved taking photos and sharing them here. Seeing the world through the lens of my camera has been an enriching experience. It is definitely a new hobby of mine 🙂

My daughters are growing fast and I know that in a few years, the things I am sharing here will no longer be part of our lives any more. Sob! They will have moved on, so I am pleased that I have started to record the lovely things we do here for us to read about and remember fondly in the years to come. Do you find it difficult to remember things you did with your children in the past clearly, or to recall your children at different stages? I certainly do..I can only fully imagine them in the present; the past is all a bit of a haze, especially the early years (with all the sleep deprivation…). Thank goodness for photos that take us back in time. I feel I have so much more clarity and head space now (with more sleep and two girls over 7 years) to write and record our lives and blogging here is a wonderful hobby for me right now. As my youngest goes to school half days, I don’t feel I can commit to any other study or paid/unpaid work right now, but I am so happy to have this little “job” to get me started.

Over the years, with young children, and living a non-mainstream life, I have found a real sense of solace and a feeling of “coming home” when reading some of the lovely blogs I visit. I have been inspired and reassured that the vision I have for our family life is good and wholesome and realisable, but most importantly we are not alone, even if it has sometimes felt that way.

I am lucky to have made wonderful friends through our Waldorf School Community (many of whom have since left our school). What we have in common, is that we are all trying to live gentle child-centred lives, as much as possible. In our actual School Community, there is a mix of motivations for sending a child to a Waldorf School. The school certainly has a very wholesome curriculum and outlook, which I so appreciate and there is no computer use until the teenage years. They do not advocate screen time at home during the school week, especially in the elementary school years, but this cannot be controlled and my eldest daughter, who at 10 years, is in the fourth grade, sometimes feels quite upset that most of  the (only nine) children in her class play computer games at home and know all the latest film releases. She still just wants to play simple imaginary games. A lot of her class also think swearing is cool 😦  – whereas my daughter certainly doesn’t. I had hoped that having my children in a Waldorf school would protect them somewhat from such influences, but it is a City school with City children and the inherent City influences. I think my daughter basically craves the connection with like-minded individuals, as I do, which isn’t proving the case at our school right now. The only alternative is another quiet private school, but I think my daughter would find the academic work too taxing at the moment and the influences will be similar, or home schooling, which once again wouldn’t work as she does not like to be taught anything by me or my husband! The creative curriculum at our school suits her and we try to fill her out-of-school life with like minded friends, free play and wholesome activities as much as possible.  That is what we can do right now.

I hadn’t meant to write that, but it is something I think about, as we all do with our children. Trying to find the right fit for schooling isn’t easy. Maybe there is no perfect fit?

I have been away from this space for a couple of weeks now and as always I find I have much to say (!) 😉 so I am going to write three more posts shortly to fill you in with the goings on here.

I hope your year has started well and I look forward to sharing more glimpes of our lives with you in the year to come 🙂 

 

2 thoughts on “A New Year begins…

  1. Thank you for sharing your feelings and experiences. It is like coming home to read here! I think we mothers are filters, among many things, to all the noise of the outside world. We recently read the fable of the city mouse and the country mouse, and my daughter and I could relate to that little country mouse. I think this particular lifestyle has these inherent challenges, but the payoff is great, I think. Having home education as our only choice, besides government schools, there are things that are struggles, too. You are right about there being no perfect fit. Hugs from across the tides.

    Like

    • Ah thanks Brandy. So lovely to connect with you too. Yes there is no perfect fit. We try to protect our children as much as possible, especially the sensitive ones, so that they can have a innocent, carefree childhood, but all we can do is our best. They will have their inbuilt challenges no matter what and the outside influences are almost unavoidable. The outside world is so fast paced and frantic sometimes or just plain noisy, we need to find as many moments of stillness as possible to ground ourselves and show our children what is real and what matters to us. I agree, it is all worth it, giving our children the childhood of wonder with a strong family rhythm. Thanks so much for commenting. I always so appreciate hearing from you Brandy. Hugs to you too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

