Strawberry time

DSC02457.JPG

It’s time to celebrate strawberry season and the start of summer! Apart from just savouring the sweet juicy goodness of the humble strawberry,  Wimbledon has begun, synonymous with champagne, strawberries and cream, sunshine and the occasional  British downpour  (!)  and we even enjoyed a beautiful strawberry moon last night, coinciding with the summer solstice.

What more could you ask for ? 🙂

In the Early Years Department at our Steiner (Waldorf) school, they will be holding their annual Strawberry Fayre on Friday; one of the many beautiful and varied seasonal festivals that mark the rhythm of the year in a way that young children can relate to. The children “sell” strawberries and scones with homemade strawberry jam and cream to the parents  ( we donate a little money to the school in return for some strawberry tokens which we give to the children as payment). It is a wonderful outdoorsy festival and the weather has always been just perfect – fingers crossed this good fortune continues  as it’s my birthday  this year too!!

DSC02409

At home, every day, we are able to harvest a little bowlful of ripe juicy strawberries from the strawberry patch in our garden ( just before they get eaten by the wildlife if we are lucky!) and that feels so good.

DSC02408

The children love hunting for them under the canopy of leaves. Eye spy with my little eye something tasty and rosy red…..clearly they don’t always make it into the house!

It is the first year we have had the space and time to grow our own fruit and vegetables. I used to have an allotment for many years pre-children, ( was there ever such a time??! Feels like another lifetime…) but I had to give it up after my eldest daughter was born as she cried so much and never napped unless I was walking with her ( she had intolerances to food I was eating unbeknown to me…but that’s another story I will probably share at some point), so having a big allotment and working it on my own wasn’t feasible….I did try to grow some vegetables in our  last small garden but the local cats thought it was their toilet, so we never ate them. Sob!   We have plenty of challenges in our current garden with the local wildlife – foxes, badgers, crows, seagulls, slugs to name but a few…. but we are meeting the challenges and so far are keeping about 80% of our crops. I think in organic gardening, you have to share to some extent.

For many years we’ve visited a local PYO farm for our strawberry picking adventures (and may still go there once our own picking season is over -it is good to keep up these seasonal traditions), but there is nothing quite like going out into your own garden searching  for sweet treasures.

As it is strawberry season, I thought I would add some little strawberry folk to my nature table. I had planned to needle felt them as I did with these flower children here

DSC02438.JPG

but when I went to my wool stash, there were only a few wisps of red wool left, so I had to have a rethink and make them out of felt instead. ( they are loosely based on  the way the  spring flower fairies are made in this book).

DSC02446DSC02451.JPG

I am just updating my nature table  (finally). The tables in both the lounge and dining area are now covered in a red cloth and there will be a distinct strawberry theme to reflect what is going on in nature, with plenty of bees, roses, golden suns and spirals and a little bit of magic ( after all Midsummer’s Eve is coming!)  As usual, the girls have coloured in their monthly seasonal picture which we hang in their playroom:

DSC02456

I will share the Midsummer nature table when I have finished setting it up. I have cut out a couple more pieces of felt so the girls can each make a strawberry child for their own nature tables ( they each have one in their rooms) when we get together after school tomorrow. Here is a sweet picture my youngest drew of the strawberry folk to finish off with 🙂

DSC02462.JPG

Hope you are enjoying nature’s bounty wherever you are.

Joining Nicole at Frontier Dreams for KKCO

5 thoughts on “Strawberry time

  1. Such a beautiful tradition and lovely, lovely dolls! I discovered your blog just last week thanks to Nicole ‘s kcco and really loved reading every one of your posts! Thank you for sharing here!

    Like

  2. So delightful! I will certainly be inspired when we have our Summer and our strawberry patches grow. We use to have a full enclosed garden to keep possums and kangaroos out but in our new rental the magpies ate all of ours last Summer. So next Summer we plan to put them in an enclosure. I’d be interested in knowing your food allergies. I had similar experiences with my two with colic and eczema. I also discovered you through KCCO:)

    Like

  3. Thanks Zena! So lovely to hear from you again. I appreciate all your comments, I really do. I love Nicole’s blog, such a cosy place, so was hoping that by sharing there, I might find other like minded folk to share my experiences with and hurrah! it looks like I have :-). Yes good idea about enclosing your fruit, or at least erecting some netting before the strawberries ripen. We have metal hoops with netting thrown over them which seems to work at the moment. I am going to have to throw some over our raspberries and cherries too when they start to ripen. Both my daughters were intolerant to soya, beans and pulses in my diet. I only found out when my eldest was 7 months after eliminating dairy, wheat and all the more common allergens – and probably eating more soya, beans and pulses :-(. I went to a lady who did dowsing with a crystal and it was very clear what the problem was. As soon as I stopped these foods she stopped crying almost instantly. And with the next daughter, I knew to avoid these so things went more smoothly. Both can now merrily eat tofu, beans and pulses so must just be the way they were coming through in my breast milk. Wish i had known earlier though – was a tough seven months as a new mum. Doctors never know what to do with colic or reflux…have you found out the root cause of your children’s eczema? I actually bought a crystal to dowse with as my youngest has had tummy aches for quite a while and it seems very helpful to tell me what to avoid. The same things come up again and again. Sounds hokey, but I am giving it a go and it seems to help. Wow that’s a long response! Hope that answers your questions 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Midsummer | amothershares

Leave a Reply

