Birthday makings

It is my youngest daughters’s seventh birthday tomorrow and I have made her a couple of things, as I do every year on birthdays and at Christmas. I made her sister a wool fairy for her seventh birthday (see below)DSC01757

and she has been asking me for one on and off for a little while now. So I borrowed the Magic Wool Fairies by Christine Schafer from a friend and set to work last week. Both girls were ill last week so there were only little pockets of time in the evenings to make things in secret, but I am pleased to say I did it – phew!

DSC02005

DSC02006

I am pleased with the effect – although I don’t think the photos do her justice (I am still trying to get the hang of this photo taking business!!!) – and I know my daughter will be delighted. While I was making the fairy’s body, the heart shaped flowers of Dicentra, which C so loves, came to mind. I wanted both girls to have a fairy with a heart shaped body as they are made with love.  They are in different colours to reflect the season they were born in ( my eldest daughter is an autumn baby).

I love working (or rather playing!) with wool. It is so lovely and tactile and beautiful things just emerge without much effort really.

I also sewed her a simple tiered skirt from hereDSC01742using the materials of her choice with a matching little one for her Waldorf doll ( that i made three Christmases ago). I always try to make things in miniature for the girls’ dolls as they love it. I made up the doll pattern myself and will share a tutorial when I get a chance. ( I have a heavy cold today and I have a birthday to celebrate!)  but thought I would at least drop a few lines down and join in with the KKCO which I have wanted to do for a while now.DSC02007.JPG

DSC01854.JPGThe doll, Kirsty, is wearing a mini version of this top that I copied from Nicole at Frontier Dreams ravelry page  – thanks Nicole!

Ah, now I can breathe. Soon it will be time to get the girls to bed and start the final birthday preparations. Special ( if tiring!) times 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Birthday makings

    • Ah thank you Carie, they are really quite easy to make and the instructions are nice and clear to follow, so go for it! I am thinking of making an angel next while I still have the book 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

